Rocket Basketball Award Ceremony

Bennett Krohne, Staff Writer

On Sunday, March 26, the Okawville Rockets Basketball Program had its awards ceremony. To start the night, the coach of the freshman/sophomore team, Payten Harre, first summarized an overview of the season. He then listed all players who were on the team. These players were Parker Weise, John Schaller, Reid Heimann, Landen Shubert, Ryker Obermeier, Thor Gavin, Jack Scheutz, Grant Moody, and Calvin Maynard. Coach Harre’s two awards recipients were John Schaller, who was credited with Most Improved, and Thor Gavin, who received the Hustle Award.

After the freshman/sophomore team’s awards, it was J.V. coach Cameron Obermeier’s turn. The JV squad consisted of Rylan Nelson, Bennett Krohne, John Schaller, Grant Moody, Ryker Obermeier, Calvin Maynard, Thor Gavin, Landen Shubert, Reid Heimann, and Parker Weise. Coach Obermeier gave out two awards. Rylan Nelson received the Hustle Award and Landen Shubert received Most Improved. 

To end the night, varsity head coach Ryan Heck briefly spoke about the varsity season. He then listed out all players, which were Grant Schleifer, Hayden Shubert, Joe Jansen, Andrew Savard, Dillon Teter, Rylan Nelson, Bennett Krohne, Aidan Anderson, Parker Weise, Calvin Maynard, John Schaller, Grant Moody, Landen Shubert, and Ryker Obermeier. Coach Heck distributed six awards. Andrew Savard received the Nick Rennegarbe Award, Joe Jansen received the Defense Award, Grant Schleifer received the Free Throw Percentage Award and Most Assists, and Aidan Anderson received the Field Goal Percentage Award and Most Rebounds. All award recipients were very well deserving of these accomplishments!